My own 2014

image

1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015.                                                        Yeah, it’s 1st of January 2015.
I don’t go to church though, so I’m using my first few hours to preview my year. I badly wanted to create a video of everyone who made last year amazing but I can’t because I don’t want to mistakenly leave anyone out.  The problem I’m even having is to decide the most memorable day this year.  However, last year remains the best so far and I mean it. I laughed a lot last year and I also cried my eyes out. I made a lot of sacrifices for people and I watched them forget them. I showed a lot of love last year and I watched some people throw it all away. I betrayed and disappointed a lot of people this year and I saw them still forgiving me. I learnt powerful lessons about trust and love. Looking back now, I feel so happy that I appreciated my moments well and learnt from my lessons.

image

         I saw the very essence of pain and suffering. I saw the raw meaning of betrayal. I’m grateful for everyone who watched me make a mess of things and still remain my friend.  Those who I hide my fears and pain from even when they asked. The few others who patiently saw me through the year.                            -Uduak Obong-Antai will remain my number one.  She gave me moments to forget all of my fears and tears. I owe her part of my sanity today.                                                             

-My beautiful mother, who was always there giving me reasons not to lose hope of life.                                                                    -My gems, Dabirichi & Navid, the ones who turned my bad days into happy days. The boys who saw me through my mistakes and saw me accept my lessons.                                                             -Uchenna Udechukwu, the only constant friend I had for 6 years.  She owns half of my heart.                                                         -Domo Kabi, my dancer. She constantly kept me on track. I admire her way of constantly being herself. That’s a rare trait.                                                                          -Priscilla Kolawole, my sexy dance partner.  I will love you forever. Thanks for your support throughout this year.                                                                -Efosa Egbe, the girl who kept my face smiling and made me see hope in all my failures.  There’s no one else like you.                                                                 -Abimola , I’ve actually never meet her in person and I’m dying to do so. She has been soo good and understanding this year.  She made me laugh soo many times this year.                                                                -My companion from God, my sister Jackie. I will always love you no matter how much we fight                                                                          -Eghogho Enebi, a friend who showed me that distance can do nothing to a friendship.                                                     -Daniel Asuwata, my baby boy.  The one who always gave me faith in myself and constantly reminded me that I was better than my problems.  I owe you so much.                                                               -For all those who aren’t mentioned here but made my year. Thank you also. -Sugmad,God, I thank you for keeping me alive and giving me the grace to face my mistakes.                                           “Happpy newww yearrrrr guysss, this year holds much more than we can imagine”

4 thoughts on “My own 2014

  1. Sisturrrr. I love you so much and you can’t even imagine how thankful I am to God for making us friends. We’ve not met but you mean so much more to me than most people I’ve known/seen for years. Thanks for your support and always being there for me.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Atlanta

    Buckhead offers twelve-dollar sandwiches,
    Parents lunching their children on Saturday:
    Straight from Beemer to deli to Emory to evening
    Wedding to Benz to kids at lunch on Peachtree.

    North Peachtree, where you can’t quite see the smog
    Thanks to trees and art and tacky bars. Southern
    Culture on the skids, but not outside this deli, where
    Leaves tumble with Dr. Brown’s Cream Soda cans.

    All I can think of is you: hamburgers and organic
    Bananas, juices, never soda, and a complete
    Satisfaction. Money doesn’t earn these deli-dippers
    The satisfaction you have. Inner peace even.

    You cook after volunteering, after the kids are
    Down for the night. You go there and back then home
    To ride your bike to work. Teach me how to calm
    Myself won’t you? One point at five points:

    There is no chemistry to teach the zen you have.
    Perfect weather makes yellow leaves stand out.
    Small winds coerce more travel. Sharp shadows
    Waver. One beacon lures me home to paint autumn.

    Like

Leave a Reply

